Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

24 hours in Heidelberg, Germany

I have a long weekend ahead of me, and at the spur of the moment, some friends and I decide to go to Heidelberg, Germany for the weekend. My day starts with a stroll through the old town, pausing to admire the sunflowers that say Spring is almost here. We also happen upon a cute little chocolate shop with a bench outside, reserved especially for Forrest Gump.

The picturesque Old Bridge spans the Neckar river that flows between Heidelberg and Neuenheim. There, I pause to snap a picture of locks left behind by love birds, symbolizing their eternal love. Back on the Heidelberg side, a curious statue catches my eye. Not quite animal, not quite human, the statue reminds me of a cat in a rather strange hat. Others have dubbed it the Heidelberg monkey or Mandrill but I like my name better.

Our aim for the day is to explore the old town of Heidelberg and the castle that sits proudly on top of the hill. Deciding to get some exercise, we hike up the hill to the Heidelberger Schloss, where, thanks to our student cards, we manage to get entry to the castle for a mere four Euros. It wasn’t until we entered the castle courtyard that we figured out our ticket was for just that – entry to the courtyard. The only way to see the castle, apparently, is by guided tour. However, there is free entry to an apothecary museum, which is located in one of the buildings that surround the courtyard. And of course, you can’t miss the world’s largest wine barrel ever used, the Heidelberg Tun. This cottage-sized wine barrel is said to hold 220,000 litres of wine, and is approximately the size of a cottage.

For lunch, I try the popular Alsation dish, flammkuchen or “flame cake”. It resembles a thin crust pizza, although the texture is more flaky. Mine is topped with jalapenos, peppers, and spicy salami, and at seven Euros, definitely qualifies as a cheap eat.

After lunch, we continue our exploration of the old town, but cannot resist the pull of a cafe for kaffee und kuchen (coffee and cakes). We try one of Germany’s national symbols, the black forest cake, but I find that I prefer the raspberry cake, a decadent treat in what still feels very much like winter.

A spot of shopping fills my afternoon, during which I purchase a Zwilling J.A. Henckels knife (which I now find is a joy to cut, dice, and chop with), and a little black dress that is also suitable for the office.

For dinner, e-Heidelberg.com leads us to a quaint local neighborhood haunt, Dorfshanke. The menu is handwritten in German, but we are fortunate to have a waiter who patiently takes us through the menu before recommending local favourites. I end up with delicious hand-made ravioli stuffed with pork and vegetables and smothered with a decadent cheese sauce, which the waiter assures us is local to Heidelberg. For dessert, we have another flammkuchen, but this time, a sweet one.

Heidelberg is a quaint little German town that is besieged with tourists during the summer months, so I am glad to have seen it during the quieter winter/spring season. The town can be accessed by train, but why not try driving, especially when there is a limitless autobahn?

Limitless driving on the Autobahn, by Penne Cole

Limitless driving on the Autobahn, by Penne Cole

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day in My Life.

Related post: Restaurant reviews: Dorfschanke, Heidelberg, Germany.

13 comments on “24 hours in Heidelberg, Germany

  1. Penne Cole
    April 4, 2013

    Looks like I’m not the only one thinking of Heidelberg. I found this awesome shot on Travel Pics: http://travelpics2.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/heidelberg/

  2. mithriluna
    April 4, 2013

    What a lovely day! I love Germany. Thanks for sharing.

    • Penne Cole
      April 4, 2013

      Thank you. I liked your entry too. You have a beautiful family.

  3. frizztext
    April 6, 2013

    raspberry cake = good!

  4. TomAndAlexandra
    April 9, 2013

    I was born and raised in Germany, and the food pics make me drool!

    • Penne Cole
      April 9, 2013

      I love German food too. Not sure if I could eat it every day though, especially since my favourite is pork knuckle and sauerkraut!

  5. authormjlogan
    April 9, 2013

    Love that shot of the speedometer LOL. Looks like fun. Great post.

    • Penne Cole
      April 9, 2013

      It was great fun pushing pedal to the metal and seeing how fast the little car could go. Having no speed limits is liberating!

  6. Pingback: Restaurant reviews: Dorfschanke, Heidelberg, Germany | Penne 4 Your Thoughts

  7. Shenny
    December 14, 2015

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂 I am doing Heidelberg tomorrow!

    • Penne Cole
      December 15, 2015

      You’re welcome – hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2013 by in Cheap Eats, Europe, Food, Germany, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

