Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

From above: A perfectly white African Daisy

African Daisy, by Penne Cole

African Daisy, by Penne Cole

It was a bright summer day in Sydney, and I was on one of my short visits to The Doctor. After a lazy morning indoors, we headed out for a bite to eat. Not a cloud was in sight and the sun was beating down strongly upon us, making it unbearable to stay in the sun for more than a few minutes at a time.

Squinting against the bright sunlight, I spotted this African Daisy in one of The Doctor’s flower beds. Its petals were pure white, as though it had been bleached by the sun. An insect perched on one of its petals, seemingly too lethargic to move in the muggy day.

On days like these, when the temperature exceeds 40 degrees Celsius and even The Doctor’s energetic dog refuses to leave the house for its walk, perhaps we should have taken our cue from the dog and stayed home. But then again, I would never have captured this perfect, tranquil moment. I would never have picked the flower and started counting off the petals.

He loves me, he loves me not; he loves me, he loves me not… and yes, he loves me indeed.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above. For my other Weekly Photo Challenge entries. click here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by in Australia, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

