Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Escape: A walk by the sea

Mosman Bay, by Penne Cole

By the sea, by Penne Cole

My favourite way to get home after a long day at work was to take the ferry. The gentle rocking of the ship starts to soothe my frazzled nerves as soon as I get on board. Taking a seat outdoors by the railing, I can feel the stresses of the day start to fade away as I wave a goodbye to the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge.

It isn’t until I step foot on land again and gaze up the path towards home that I start to smile. I love every step of the long coastal path. My senses drink in the beauty, hungrily trying to absorb every detail. My ears pick out the rhythmic slap of the lines against the masts; my nose sniffs the salty tang to the air; my eyes soak up the gorgeous blue of the sky as it slowly fades into hues of orange and gold.

I say hello to the tree man along the way. Almost there. Up the punishing stairs, down the long road, wait impatiently for the elevator, turn my key in the lock, and I’m home. Escape complete.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: Escape. Click here for my other Weekly Photo Challenge entries.

2 comments on “Escape: A walk by the sea

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My favorite Escape | Humbled Pie

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Escape | Ryan Photography

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in Australia, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

