Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Things I love about home: Great char siew @ Famous Seremban Favorites

Char siew, by Penne Cole

Char siew, by Penne Cole

The best part about coming home, for me, is seeing my family. But immediately after that is the food. Curry laksa is my absolute, hands down favourite meal, and home-made nasi lemak is a close second. Durian, king of fruits, is one of my favourites as well. In fact, there are so many good things to eat that when I’m home for short trips, I often plan my days around my meals, making sure to hit all my best-loved spots before I have to leave again.

All of this doesn’t leave much room for me to discover new eateries, but this trip being a longer one, I managed to hit a new hot spot, which serves some of the best char siew in town. Famous Seremban Favorites has been widely and very favourably mentioned in the blogosphere for a while, so I’m a tad late to the bandwagon, but I finally made the trip last week and was pleasantly surprised.

We arrived at 12.30p.m., right in the middle of the lunch rush, but we managed to get a table right away. It seems we had arrived just in time, as we claimed the last available portion of Famous Seremban Favorites’ signature char siew for the day. For those not in the know, char siew is Chinese-style barbecued pork with a sweet glaze. The marinade typically makes the outside of the meat a deep, signature red.

Hakka noodles, by Penne Cole

Hakka noodles, by Penne Cole

The char siew, being already prepared, was brought to the table right away. But we had to wait for a good 20 minutes to half an hour for the hakka* mee that we had ordered to go with it, which considerably dampened our enjoyment of the food. It seems we weren’t the only table to face this dilemma, as a glance around the restaurant revealed many tables with half-eaten plates of char siew but no noodles.

Poor time management aside, the char siew was as delicious as promised. The sweet glaze was just right, and the meat was tender, with just enough fat to make it decadently delicious, but not enough to make it dangerously unhealthy. For those with a sweet tooth, a separate bowl of the char siew dipping sauce is served on the side.

The accompanying hakka mee was served in enourmous portions; my companion and I could have shared one small serving. The noodles were springy and accompanied by a scattering of minced pork and chives. They were decent, but not much to write home about. The char siew is definitely the star of the show at Famous Seremban Favorites.

When something is this hyped up, it often doesn’t live up to its reputation but not so for this restaurant. The char siew is really delicious, and well worth a special trip. And at just over RM20 (~USD 7) for two, this place isn’t as cheap as, say, a bowl of noodles from the hawker centre, but it’s still a steal.

*Note: The Hakka are a Chinese tribe that are known to be amazing cooks.

Practical information

Famous Seremban Favorites
80-1, Jalan PJU 1/3B
Sunway Mas Commercial Centre
47301 Petaling Jaya, Selangor
017-279 8582

Quick Tips:

  • Try to arrive before 12.30p.m., or phone ahead to reserve your char siew. Otherwise, you just might leave empty-handed
  • If you’re health-conscious, ask for the lean meat, but for the really delicious stuff, ask for a portion of char siew that is half-lean, half-fat. After all, fat is flavour
  • Not in Malaysia? Never fear. I’ve noticed that most Chinese restaurants overseas serve char siew or BBQ pork. I can’t vouch for the quality, though!
2 comments on “Things I love about home: Great char siew @ Famous Seremban Favorites

  1. My French Heaven
    August 20, 2013

    This is my idea of heaven!!!!

    • Penne Cole
      August 21, 2013

      This is why I love coming home 🙂 I just noticed your email address – are you from Saint Emilion? I was just there a month ago. It’s such a beautiful village and you’re lucky to live there.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2013 by in Asia, Cheap Eats, Food, Malaysia, Restaurant reviews, Travel and tagged .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

