Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Inside Angelina, Paris

Hot chocolate at Angelina's

Hot chocolate at Angelina’s, by Penne Cole

Angelina in Paris is every hot chocolate-lover’s dream destination. Its Hot Chocolate L’Africain is recognised as one of the best in Paris, so when I walked past one day and saw (miracle of miracles) that there was no line in front of the door, I promptly forgot my next errand and walked inside.

Immediately to the left was a beautifully-decorated nook, where a long display full of delicate French pastries, including Angelina’s famous Mont Blanc took centre stage. But I had come for a hot chocolate and I was not to be distracted.

Angelina's pastries

Angelina’s pastries, by Angelina

The waiter, impeccably dressed in a crisp white shirt and black vest, showed me to my marble-topped table. Minutes later, my hot chocolate appeared in a small jug, accompanied by a small cup full of cream. The hot chocolate, while definitely not “thick enough to stand a spoon in,” as one food writer described, was certainly a force to be reckoned with. It was thick, and rich and absolutely delicious; certainly well-worth the ~8 Euros I paid for it.

Was it the best cup of hot chocolate I’ve ever had? Quite possibly.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside. Related post: Outside in or inside out?

Practical information

Angelina
226 Rue de Rivoli (across from Jardin de Tuilleries)
75001, Paris
+33 1 42 60 82 00
6 comments on “Inside Angelina, Paris

  1. TravelingMad
    September 18, 2013

    I love this post. (And I love Angelina’s!)
    As long as I lived in France I’ve only been there once. I definitely have to get back soon. It’s delicious!

    • Penne Cole
      September 19, 2013

      Totally agree 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. atreegrowsinbklyn
    September 20, 2013

    What a heart warming picture; just in time for the cool Autumn weather that is on it’s way in New York.

    • Penne Cole
      September 21, 2013

      Yes, a good cup of hot chocolate does have that effect, doesn’t it? Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  3. Oh, my! Only seeing that coffee photo made me wanna grab a coffee! But daaaah! it’s 11PM here and I wanna have some sleep though… this cafeteria looks very much alike my fav one: Paul, a french bakery with great tasty delicious cappuccino!

    • Penne Cole
      October 26, 2013

      It’s actually hot chocolate, and it is oh-so yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2013 by in Europe, Food, France, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

