Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Cheap Eats: Kurtoskalacs @ Kurtosh in Crows Nest

A delightful array of pastries at Kurtos

A delightful array of pastries at Kurtosh

What’s the best way to reward yourself? For me, it’s usually about food, and better still if it’s sinfully sweet.

One weekend last month, to reward myself for a week of long hours of hard work at the office, I headed to a Hungarian bakery I’d heard about in Crows Nest. Kurtosh is located toward the end of bustling Willoughy Road. The exterior is plain and the interior is decorated along minimalist, industrial-chic lines. But the plain decor only serves to highlight the star of the show – the glorious pastries displayed in well-lit cases along one side of the cafe.

Kurtosh offers a range of pastries, most with a Hungarian twist. They also have sheet cakes sold by weight. But for me, I couldn’t go past the shop’s namesake, the kurtoskalac or chimney cake. The kurtoskalac is made fresh to order; the dough is rolled out before your eyes – and in my case, slathered with (rather too little, in my opinion) nutella – before being twirled around a stick and placed in a special oven. Ten minutes later, I have a hot chimney cake in my hands.

Kurtoskalac

It is delicious, with a nice, crunchy crust and soft insides layered with nutella. It is also massive – longer than my hand – and so filling that I couldn’t finish it in one sitting. Hours later, I dig into it again, and am surprised to find that it is still crunchy. For $9.50, what else could you ask for?

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: Reward.

Practical Information

Kurtosh

110 – 112 Willoughby Road, Crows Nest, Sydney NSW, Australia

02 9439 4563

Branches also available at Randwick and Surry Hills

 

Other treats nearby: the best Ramen in Sydney at Ryo’s.

4 comments on “Cheap Eats: Kurtoskalacs @ Kurtosh in Crows Nest

  1. roamingpursuits
    March 1, 2015

    The pastries look tempting.

  2. basiga
    March 2, 2015

    It’s the best reward for the young and restless. But a danger for me at 63, although your photo is soooo soooo inviting.

    • Penne Cole
      March 2, 2015

      Lol yes. I have to try very hard to keep my dad away from the sweets these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2015 by in Australia, Cheap Eats, Food, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

