Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

The best gelato in the world

Gelato from Cow and Moon

Gelato from Cow and Moon

Where do you think you would find the best gelato in the world?

Italy is the first country that comes to mind, but surprisingly, the best gelato in the world is right here in Sydney. It’s official – the Cow and Moon was crowned the champion of the Gelato World Tour in Rimini, Italy last September. So of course, I had to try it for myself.

Cow and Moon in Enmore, Sydney

Cow and Moon in Enmore, Sydney

I went two weekends in a row. That’s how good the gelato was. The award winning flavour, the Mandoria affogato, blew my mind. It was smooth and creamy, and was a great combination of bitterness from the coffee, sweet from the Madagascan vanilla, and slightly salty from the almonds. I especially liked the crunchy texture that the almonds added to the gelato. I also loved the strawberry and balsamic vinegar – another awesome combination – and the chocolate was really intense. Unfortunately, not all their flavours were equally great. The pistachio was above average, but the chocolate chip was pretty normal.

Gelato @ Cow and Moon

Gelato @ Cow and Moon

Word has, of course, gotten out about the amazing gelato at the Cow and Moon so you’ll have to be patient to get your ice cream. The first time I went, it was after dinner on a Saturday night and the second, it was at 4pm on a Sunday. Both times, the queue stretched around the corner and it took about half an hour to be served. I found the process wasn’t very optimised – and that’s the consultant in me speaking. A simple board with the flavours on offer would have halved the time to serve a customer. However, customers have to wait in line until they reach the freezer just to see what’s on offer, and by the time I get there, I feel so pressured by the line behind me that I don’t take my time to choose the flavour I want – and it’s such an important decision, don’t you think?

Was it the best gelato in the world? The affogato was certainly one of the best flavours I’ve ever had, but it’s a close call between the Cow and Moon and San Crispino in Italy for me.

Practical Information

Cow and Moon

181 Enmore Road

Enmore, NSW 2042

To get there by train, the closest station is Newtown, and the Cow and Moon is a short walk from there. It’s a great hippy area, so do allow some time to explore.

One comment on “The best gelato in the world

  1. Pingback: Foodies’ guide to Newtown – Part 1 | Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2015 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews and tagged , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

