Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Taro – the best ramen in Brisbane?

Ramen @ Taro in Brisbane

Ramen @ Taro in Brisbane

If you haven’t guessed it already, I’m something of a ramen-lover. So when I found myself in Brisbane on a work trip, with a solo dinner on the cards, I Googled “best ramen in Brisbane” and came across Taro. One Urbanspoon entry even rated it as possibly the best in the world. I was hooked.

A 10-minute walk later, after prudently steering away from the dark alleyway in which Google Maps insisted that the restaurant was located, I finally found the restaurant at the bottom of Boeing House. Taro’s is a simple place, with pre-payment required at the counter. There is a scattering of tables in an inner courtyard as well as on the terrace next to the street. Despite it being prime dinner time, most of the tables are empty. I suspect it’s more of a lunch place.

A short while later, my spicy tonkatsu arrives. As I always do, the first thing I do is take a big slurp of the broth – after all, that’s what noodle soups like ramen and laksa are all about. The broth is well seasoned and doesn’t have a hint of MSG. The noodles are springy and at just the right consistency. And the chashu is melt in your mouth tender, with non of the super-fatty bits that can usually be found in a ramen bowl. The onsen egg, always my favourite part, is also perfectly done.

All in all, it was a pretty good bowl of noodles; but was it the best I’ve ever had? No, I think that honour still sits with Ryo’s in Sydney, although it’s on my bucket list to hit the ramen-yas in Japan.

Practical Information

Taro’s Ramen and Cafe

363 Adelaide Street,

Brisbane

07-3832 6358

At $15.90, I found my bowl of ramen to be very expensive, especially when compared to Sydney prices. But then again, I find that most restaurants in Brisbane are expensive compared to Sydney.

3 comments on “Taro – the best ramen in Brisbane?

  1. Pingback: Cheap eats: Ryo’s Noodles, Crows Nest | Penne 4 Your Thoughts

  2. James
    March 28, 2015

    It is breakfast time at the moment I am reading this post Penne. But I tell you after reading this and viewing the tasty snapshot, I wish it was lunch. So “Ryo” is still the winner for best tasting noodle dishes, eh? I appreciate this review.

    • Penne Cole
      April 7, 2015

      Ryo’s definitely wins for me. I hope you get a chance to taste it one day, James.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2015 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews and tagged , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

