Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Restaurant Reviews: Le Bon Choix in Brisbane, Australia

Jewel-like pastries at Le Bon Choix

Jewel-like pastries at Le Bon Choix

I have, quite unabashedly, a decidedly sweet tooth. So, bored with breakfast options at my hotel, I decided to check out Brisbane’s local bakery scene. Le Bon Choix appeared at the top of my Google page, and was right around the corner from my hotel, so it was the good choice (pardon the pun).

I headed to the branch on Edward Street, at the “Parisian” end of town, where all the expensive shops call home. Just like my favourite patisseries in France, Le Bon Choix has a host of mini pastries all neatly laid out in its case. Their bright colours and decadent glistening remind me of expensive jewels in a showcase.

A selection of pastries

Sweet tooth though I may have, even I can’t manage one of those decadent pastries at 8 in the morning. So instead, I turn to the quintessential French pastry, the croissant. I am anxious to compare it to my croissant-hunting days in Paris, and Le Bon Choix does not disappoint. The pastry is light and fluffy, and while it doesn’t have the almost glass-like crust of the Parisian master, Sebastian Gaudard, it does have a hint of a crust, giving the croissant a very nice texture.

Croissant

Croissant with strawberry jam

 

Now if only I could finish work early enough to come back to the cafe for some of those tiny jewels, or even, bien sur, the macarons that every self-respecting French patisserie has to carry.

Practical Information

Le Bon Choix has a number of branches scattered in and around the city.

CBD:

379 Queen Street, Brisbane

07 3329 9260

Mon – Sun 6.30am – 6pm

 

104 Edward Street, Brisbane

07 3210 6010

Mon – Sat 6.30am – 6pm; closed Sundays

 

Suburbs:

2/121 Racecourse Rd, Ascot

07 3630 1114

Mon – Sun 7am – 6pm

 

1/251 Given Terrace, Paddington

07 3367 2776

Mon – Sun 7am – 6pm

Related posts:

The must-have guide for croissant hunters in Paris

5 comments on “Restaurant Reviews: Le Bon Choix in Brisbane, Australia

  1. Pingback: The best croissants in Paris | Penne 4 Your Thoughts

  2. James
    April 15, 2015

    Early in the morning, the regular croissant with a cup of coffee suits me fine. But around lunch time, it is somewhat a different story. Thank you for sharing the experience.

    • Penne Cole
      April 19, 2015

      I hear you 🙂 They do sandwiches and quiches for lunch, but I’ve never tried them. They looked good in the case, though!

  3. Hyemin
    August 14, 2015

    Edward st one provide bad service.
    I ordered a 18cm cake yesterday to be picked up next Monday.
    Plan was changed so I needed to pick up cake on Sunday which they close.
    I asked if I can pick up at Queen st store (they open on Sunday) on Sunday if possible.
    The guy said it is really annoying and seem he did not want to help me.
    I understand they close but they wouldnt try to help customer to the best way they can. I wouldnt mund picking up Sat if he was polite. Anyway I got shocked when I heard that I am annoying him lol

    • Penne Cole
      September 6, 2015

      That sounds like an awful experience! I hope you managed to pick up your cake in the end.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2015 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews, Travel and tagged , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

