Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Restaurant reviews: Sono Japanese Restaurant, Brisbane

Seafood kami nabe at Sono Japanese Restaurant, Brisbane

Seafood kami nabe at Sono Japanese Restaurant, Brisbane

It’s a relatively chilly day for Brisbane – temperatures are in the low 20s. It’s not at all to the liking of my tropical blood, so I’m on the hunt for some warm broth. A colleague recommends Sono on Queen Street Mall, so after a last-minute booking through the Qantas restaurant reservation site (another 100 points!), I stroll up to the restaurant.

It takes the waitress a while to find my booking. In fact, I’m not even sure that she found it. It’s a problem that I frequently encounter because I tend to book at the last minute and the Dimmi booking system doesn’t seem to have a real time connection to the restaurants’ reservation system. Eventually, I am seated at the bar by smiling, kimono-clad Japanese ladies.

I had looked through the menu online – another advantage of the online reservation system – so I knew exactly what I wanted. But the restaurant was bustling, with not an empty table in sight, and it takes the waitress a while to get back to me. It seems like word has gotten around that Andy Murray dines here – a photograph of him towering above the waitresses is placed front and center at the reception.

Before too long, my seafood kami nabe arrives, seved in a paper-lined pot that is reminscent of a flower. The waitress solemnly warns me that it is not quite ready and to give the hot pot and its little flame five more minutes to do its job. When I finally dig in, it is just as good as I had hoped. The broth is savoury and full of umami; The seafood – two pieces of salmon, two prawns, a scallop and a king crab leg, is exquisitely fresh and sweet. I am not exceptionally hungry, so I find that the portion size is perfect, especially when paired with the silky smooth chawan mushi.

Would I go back? Absolutely. I’d love to try some of their sushi – the food looked super fresh, and the taste of my hotpot was amazing, so I have high expectations.

Practical Information

Sono Japanese Restaurant

Level 1 Tattersalls Building

Queen Street Mall

Corner of Edward St & Queen St

Brisbane, QLD

07 3320 1888

Tip: If you book through the Qantas restaurant reservation system, you’ll get 100 Qantas frequent flyer points per diner.

5 comments on “Restaurant reviews: Sono Japanese Restaurant, Brisbane

  1. theheliopaths
    April 22, 2015

    How do you take photos like that? They look awesome! Mine turns out not very interesting hahaha! – Jon

    Check out our travel blog at https://theheliopaths.wordpress.com

  2. dimmi (@dimmi)
    April 23, 2015

    Hi Penne,

    Sorry to hear that your booking wasn’t found easily upon arrival at Sono Japanese.

    At Dimmi, we pride ourselves on guaranteeing that your table will be waiting for you at the restaurant when you arrive, regardless of what time you booked.

    We will chat with Sono and ensure that last-minute bookings are well catered for.

    We would love to chat to you offline about the other incidents where you encountered this problem. Do you have an email that we can reach you on?

    Dimmi.

    • Penne Cole
      April 23, 2015

      Sure – why don’t you give me yours and I will reach out?

  3. dimmi (@dimmi)
    April 24, 2015

    Hi Penne,

    If you could please reach out to Georgia that would be much appreciated. She would love to hear from you. Her email is georgia@dimmi.com.au.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2015 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews, Travel and tagged , , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

