Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Intricate @ Brisbane’s South Bank

Intricate

Intricate carvings on the door of the Nepal Peace Pagoda

Wandering around Brisbane’s South Bank one grey and rainy afternoon, I chance upon a structure that makes me wonder whether I am still in Brisbane. Sitting in front of me is a small pagoda; it looks like it could have come straight from the shores of Bangkok instead of Brisbane. Upon closer inspection, I find that it is a Nepalese Peace Pagoda, and is one of the remnants of the World Expo ’88.

Buddha carving

Buddha carving

The pagoda is now one of the South Bank’s multiple tourist attractions, and for good reason. There are intricate carvings on the doors, including a beautiful one of the serene Buddha. The simple wooden benches inside also provide a handy shelter from the fierce sun, and on the day I visited, the intermittent but driving rain. Unfortunately, with the rain, I didn’t get a chance to get an exterior shot of the building.

I thought this would be the perfect shot for this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Intricate. However, I had another reason for choosing this picture – this post is also dedicated to the people of Nepal. My thoughts are with you in this difficult time.

 

2 comments on “Intricate @ Brisbane’s South Bank

  1. Karen / Elizabeth
    May 3, 2015

    I’ve seen that pagoda, it’s incredible. I think you chose well for “intricate” — and I like your dedication to the Nepalese. Such tragedy.

    • Penne Cole
      May 3, 2015

      Thank you Karen / Elizabeth. Glad you liked it. I thought the dedication is the least I could do for them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2015 by in Australia, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

