Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Awesome breakfast at Melbourne’s Grain Store

House-smoked salmon with lots of extras

House-smoked salmon with lots of extras

Breakfast is one of my favourite meals of the day, largely because it’s so versatile. Most of the time, I  have boring old muesli and milk, but the Malaysian in me celebrates large, oily breakfasts, like nasi lemak, also known as a mountain of coconut milk-flavoured rice, served with curry, fried anchovies, and a boiled egg. This is why I didn’t bat an eyelid when the folks at Melbourne’s Grain Store put a good chunk of smoked salmon and a scotch egg in front of me at 8.30 in the morning.

The menu at the Grain Store is innovative to say the least. Some of the descriptions contain ingredients I’d never even heard of – case in point, the quark on my plate. Nerdy old me thought that a quark was something known only to nuclear physicists but a quick squizz on Wikipedia reveals that it’s a kind of cheese common in German-speaking countries. I’m guessing that’s the white stuff underneath the fish, although it sure tasted a lot like sour cream or yoghurt. (In my defence, my ignorance is forgiven, because the atomic quark was the first thing that popped up on Wikipedia.)

What else was on my plate? To be honest, I’m not quite sure, but the whole thing just worked together so well. The sweetness of the fruit (must have been the pickled quince, but since I haven’t actually seen one in real life, I can’t be sure) worked so well with my mildly salty, perfectly flaky house-smoked salmon, with the charred corn providing just the right amount of crunchy texture. And the scotch egg! The menu said fried egg, but this deep-fried gem with a perfectly runny yolk surpassed all expectations.

Potato and roasted cauliflower omelette

Potato and roasted cauliflower omelette

My dining companion was less impressed with his selection, though. His chef-iness claimed that he had been trained to make the perfect omelette in America, and this lightly browned version was decidedly overcooked. But then again, maybe he just had food envy, because his roasted cauliflower and potato omelette looked so boring compared to mine.

No breakfast is complete without a juice, and my house-made spirulina with pineapple, pear and mint was absolutely delicious although perhaps just a little too sweet for my taste.

Would I go back again? In a heartbeat, if only to sample the delectable selection of pastries on the bar counter.

Practical Information

The Grain Store

517 Flinders Lane,

Melbourne 3000

03 9972 6993

 

Trading Hours

Mon – Fri 7am – 4pm

Sat – Sun 8am – 4pm

8 comments on “Awesome breakfast at Melbourne’s Grain Store

  1. Hungrycookie
    June 15, 2015

    Love the grain store!

  2. James Lynch Jr.
    June 15, 2015

    In reading your review and seeing the snapshots of the menu, I whole heartedly agree with your words “the Grain Store is innovative to say the least.” Just a small thought. Salmon for breakfast is something I can sink my teeth into with a side of vegetables and glass of orange juice.

    • Penne Cole
      June 15, 2015

      Thanks James and thanks for the reblog 🙂 Salmon obviously agrees with me too. How have you been?

      • James Lynch Jr.
        June 16, 2015

        Penne, everything is moving right along on my end. On another note, I wonder if WordPress will add a feature to the JETPACK plugin to reblog articles like yours to self-hosted wordpress sites. It would have been nice to reblog your article to my POCbooks site instead of the LCITNETWORKS

  3. James
    June 15, 2015

    Reblogged this on LCITNETWORKS.

  4. Pingback: Cheap eats: Bagels at Melbourne’s 5 and Dime | Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2015 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

