Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Lune: Melbourne’s best croissants

Cruffins by Lune

Cruffins by Lune

I admit it. Spending a year in France has completely spoilt me when it comes to baked goods. There’s no better treat than a jewel-like tart from a patisserie, or the simple pleasure of a freshly-baked baguette. So I was pretty excited when I heard about Melbourne’s Lune Croissants & Coffee. I heard that they make the best croissants in Melbourne, so I had to check it out.

Bright and early one Thursday morning, I arrived at the cafe at 8am, foolishly thinking that since it was a weekday, and only half an hour after opening time, there was no way there would be a line. Half an hour later and increasingly worried that I would be late for work, I am finally at the front of the queue. By this time, I had had plenty of time to smell the tantalising aroma of buttery croissants from the kitchen, and to observe the activity inside the glass box that housed the kitchen – presumably so that the chef could have the perfect environment in which to make croissants – so I was very hungry.

Croissants by Lune

Croissants by Lune

The store had very helpfully displayed all their offerings for the day on the counter in front of the cashier. I was tempted to try the traditional croissant – that’s how you can judge quality, right? – but I had to make the visit count. I had heard good things about their twice-baked croissants, so I chose the pecan pie one. I also can’t resist a good cruffin, so the lemon curd one also ended up in the bag.

Twice baked croissants by Lune

Twice-baked croissants by Lune

The twice-baked croissant definitely lived up to the hype. It was super crunchy and tasted devine. The lemon curd cruffin was softer but no less delicious. The verdict? Definitely some of the best croissants I’ve had – and that includes some of Paris’ top ten. But with those long lines, and the eye-popping price – the lemon curd cruffin was $7 while the twice baked pecan pie was $8.50 – it’s definitely going to be a rare treat.

 

Practical Information

Lune Croissants and Coffee

119 Rose St, Fitzroy

Victoria 3065

Open from 7.30am Thursday, Friday and Monday and from 8am on weekends.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2016 by in Australia, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

