Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Cheap eats: Balkan Oven Bakery Cafe

burek

Spinach and cheese burek @ Balkan Oven Bakery Cafe

The Good Food Guide finally published this year’s list of 50 top cheap eats in Sydney. For me, the holy grail of dining is the hole in the wall restaurant that you wouldn’t look at twice if not for the long lines snaking out of it. Don’t get me wrong – I love fine dining, but those restaurants are so expensive (and frankly, so la-di-da) that one can only indulge once in a blue moon. To find good, cheap food is more of a challenge, so I was pretty excited to see what new eateries made it to the list.

One weekend, soon after the list was published, we made our way to Rockdale for what the Good Food Guide promised was amazing bureks. The Balkan Oven Bakery Cafe is on a the corner of Rockdale’s main pedestrian thoroughfare. It’s a simple little cafe with plastic tables and chairs outside in the sun. Inside, the star of the show is the burek or Turkish pies covered in flaky layers of phyllo pastry. There are three standard fillings – beef mince, cheese, or cheese and spinach – and for $5 for a quarter serve or $20 for the whole giant burek, this is a cheap meal indeed. There are also sweet options, but these are served as whole pies.

Our spinach and cheese burek was lovely, and much like Greece’s spanakopita but not with feta. But our favourite was the beef mince burek.

Balkan coffee

Macedonian coffee @ Balkan Oven Bakery Cafe

The Macedonian coffee is thick and strong and comes in a little espresso-sized copper pot. Careful not to tip the dregs at the bottom of the pot into your cup – that stuff will put hairs on your chest.

As I greedily licked the final shards of pastry off my fingers, I reflected that while I’ve never been to Macedonia, and only vaguely recall where it is on a map, their cuisine is definitely heavily-influenced by the Ottoman empire. But whichever country claims this food, whether Turkish or Macedonian, I will definitely be back to this little hole in the wall.

For more cheap eats in Sydney, visit my dedicated page here.

Practical Information

Balkan Oven Bakery Cafe

Shop 2, 1-3 King Street

Rockdale, New South Wales

Australia

Open Mon – Sat 6am – 4pm, and Sunday 6am – 3pm

2 comments on “Cheap eats: Balkan Oven Bakery Cafe

  1. James
    July 3, 2016

    Penne I don’t know if you are the first person to mention Macedonian coffee to me or not? Since I am a coffee drinker, if I traveled like you then every now and then I want the coffee that puts hair on my chest. (Chuckle) Nice write up.

    • Penne Cole
      July 3, 2016

      Lol I don’t travel that much these days – except to Melbourne for work every week! And I’m not sure if I’m the first person to mention it to you, but that coffee sure is strong.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2016 by in Australia, Cheap Eats, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

