Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Best breakfast in Melbourne: Magic Mountain Saloon

Magic Mountain Saloon

Magic Mountain Saloon

After months of weekly travel to Melbourne, I’ve become heartily sick of the usual cafe fare for breakfast. It got to the point where I was just craving a simple bowl of muesli with milk and a dollop of yoghurt. But of course, with nowhere to store a box of muesli, that option isn’t available to me (with the irony being that even if I bought a box of muesli every day, it would still be cheaper than having breakfast at a cafe… but I digress).

On the hunt for more innovative breakfast fare, I happened upon a place called the Magic Mountain Saloon. Even the name is super creative, bringing to mind a cross between Disney (must be because of Space Mountain) and the Wild West. Cool Thai-Australian fusion restaurant/bar by night, the Magic Mountain Saloon belongs to that rare breed of restaurants that also open in the morning for breakfast. And what a breakfast it is.

Pork belly baked eggs

Baked eggs with pork belly, smoked eggplant, tomato, chilli and basil

The first time I went, I ordered the baked eggs with pork belly ($18.50). This is not your average baked eggs dish. Bits of pork belly and smoked eggplant are covered in a tangy, spicy  tomato sauce, covered with whipped eggs so it forms a custard rather than your traditional sauce-poached egg, and then topped with a mountain of crispy Thai basil leaves. It’s served with what can only be described as a hunk of light as air bread and a basket of condiments – I’m delighted to discover that my favourite pickled green chillies are on offer, and that they go perfectly with the dish. Halfway through the meal, I am already feeling full, but am determined to finish the dish. I didn’t eat lunch until 3pm, and even then I only had a light soup.

Roti

Roti stuffed with chilli tomato, mushroom and laughing cow cheese

On my next visit, I ordered one of their stuffed rotis  ($16.50). It came with a pair of scissors, and I am advised to cut them into strips and use my hands rather than the utensils. Considering that if I were eating roti at home, I would just tear it up with my hands anyway, this is a step up. I am less blown away by this dish – while the flavour is spot on, with the right balance of salty and tangy, the roti just isn’t crispy enough to make it a standout. But it’s definitely different from your average breakfast or brunch food!

Practical Information

Magic Mountain Saloon

62 Little Collins St

Melbourne CBD

Open Monday to Friday, 7am – 3am, and Saturday and Sunday 8am – 3am.

Bookings are available for 2-hour slots.

 

2 comments on “Best breakfast in Melbourne: Magic Mountain Saloon

  1. Miriam @londonkitchendiaries
    August 19, 2016

    Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day – I could easily have it three times 🙂 The food at the Magic Mountain Saloon looks very inventive! Glad you found a breakfast place in Melbourne (these things are important)!
    Miriam
    http://www.londonkitchendiaries.com

    • Penne Cole
      August 19, 2016

      These things are definitely important 😛 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2016 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews and tagged , , , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

