Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Restaurant review: Añada

Anada

Anada

What do you do for dinner when you’re only feeling mildly peckish? I found myself in this situation the other day, mostly because I’d had two Krispy Kreme doughnuts for breakfast, plus half a bronut for tea. What can I say? Krispy Kreme was running a contest, with the prize being an overseas trip for two worth $9,000. I couldn’t turn it down – had to take one for the team – so I had to try the last two round-the-world flavours they had on offer. And as for the bronut, well everyone was so stressed at work that I decided to do the nice thing and cater my meeting with bronuts (a brioche-doughnut in case you didn’t know). Of course, being the host, I couldn’t not eat one myself… but I digress.

Tapas 1

L: Bone marrow montadito; R: Mushroom and cheese croquette

So what’s a girl who’s only mildly peckish to do for dinner? Why, tapas of course! A colleague recommended Añada, and a quick glance at their menu convinced me to try it out. To my disappointment, the pulpo a la gallega was not available. I have fond memories of that dish from Barcelona’s La Boqueria, but it was not to be. Instead, I tried the bone marrow montadito with pickled onion and roasted ox tongue. The fried bread was covered in generous amounts of marrow and offset perfectly by the pickled onion. A bit too stingy on the ox tongue, though – I could barely taste it!

Next up was the mushroom and manchego cheese croquette. It was crunchy and the inside and meltingly soft and yummy on the inside. But the truffled aioli was what really made the dish.

Tapas 2

L: Scallop; R: Buratta montadito

I also had a Hervey Bay Scallop with pilpil (shredded fried bread) and migas (a kind of chilli sauce). I found this way too salty for my liking and the scallop was tiny. I really enjoyed the buratta montadito, topped with mojo verde and walnuts. The walnuts were the perfect crunchy counterpoint to the creaminess of the buratta.

At this point, I would have normally had dessert – and there was a mouthwatering array to choose from, including my favourite, dulce de leche. But given my already too-sweet day, I settled for the crispy eggplant instead. It wasn’t really as crispy as advertised, but it was complemented perfectly by the honey and sherry vinaigrette – see, I still managed to fit in something sweet with my dinner!

Crispy eggplant

Crispy eggplant

Would I go back? Yes definitely. If only to try the Pedro Ximenez braised O’Connor beef brisket with celeriac puree.

Practical information

Añada

197 Gertrude St

Fitzroy Vic 3065

Open nightly, and all day Sunday

Public transport: Just a short walk between stops on the 86 Tram line

 

5 comments on “Restaurant review: Añada

  1. James
    August 20, 2016

    Penne, after reading this, I would like to “take one for the team” too. (Stomach is now grumbling)

    • Penne Cole
      August 22, 2016

      Haha hope you found something delicious to fill your tummy with, James!

      • James
        August 22, 2016

        Since it was around breakfast time, a cup of coffee with eggs and spinach sufficed. 🙂

      • Penne Cole
        August 22, 2016

        One of the cafes across the road from my office in Melbourne serves “brekky in a cup” with a poached egg on spinach, avocado and feta. So yummy!

      • James
        August 22, 2016

        You find the best places 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2016 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews and tagged , , , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

