Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Solo dinner at Honcho Noodle, Melbourne

Honcho Noodle

Honcho Noodle pop up – empty as a ghost town

Honcho Noodle is a ghost town when I arrive. To be fair, this is the pop-up version before the real restaurant opens on Melbourne’s popular Punch Lane, and I am visiting towards the tail end – literally the second last day of the pop up restaurant’s existence. But I still didn’t expect to be the only patron in the restaurant. For the entire time I am sitting there, only one other table of two comes in. In hindsight, it was foolish even bothering to make a reservation.

When I travel for work – which has been pretty much every week since April – I usually dine alone, so my only entertainment is usually my phone, or surreptitious crowd-watching. On this occasion, the only thing I have for company is what looks like a screen grab from Studio Ghibli’s Spirited Away, mirrored in the adjoining wall.

Korean noodles at Honcho Noodle

BBQ pork belly, Korean noodles, soft egg, roast pork bone, chilli broth

I order a bowl of the Korean noodles with BBQ pork belly – expensive at $23 a bowl. My favourite part is the soup – it is tangy and spicy with the kimchi and great on a cold night. The noodles were a little over-cooked for my liking – not even close to al dente. The soft boiled egg was good, but I was hoping for the shoyu egg you get with a bowl of ramen, so was disappointed to find that it was just a regular egg. The BBQ pork belly was so-so – good flavour, but nowhere near as melt-in-the-mouth tender as the chashu you would get with a bowl of ramen.

Overall, I guess the number of patrons in the restaurant should have been a dead giveaway (pun intended) so if I were the owners of Honcho Noodles, I’d be very worried for the fate of the actual restaurant.

2 comments on “Solo dinner at Honcho Noodle, Melbourne

  1. wanderingcows
    September 9, 2016

    It looks yummy from the picture. Shame about the lack of patronage and atmosphere.

    • Penne Cole
      September 9, 2016

      Yes it’s so strange to dine alone in a restaurant!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2016 by in Australia, Food, Restaurant reviews, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

