Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Cheap eats: Oregano bakery

img_9110

Salted caramel scroll @ Oregano Bakery

Oregano bakery might not ring a bell for most Sydney-siders but chances are, you’ve seen some of their delicious scrolls at shopping malls and pop up stores at festivals like the Smooth Festival of Chocolate. Their scrolls are so popular they’ve even expanded to Melbourne.

I mean just look at that box of pillowy soft sweet goodness. How can you resist?

The first time we went to Oregano Bakery was on a Sunday and we made the mistake of not actually checking to see if they were open first. Not a good look in this day and age of instant information at your fingertips.

img_9111

Stacks of magazines and a cup of crayons @ Oregano Bakery

But we got lucky the second time around. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it’s a cafe with a big community vibe. Rather than individual tables, the owners have placed a large communal table in the centre of the room. There are stacks of magazines on top, encouraging patrons to linger for a while (dangerous when there are scrolls in the room!) and a cup full of coloured pencils and markers for the young and young at heart.

img_9112

Zaatar wrap #2: Roast lamb with yoghurt and mint @ Oregano Bakery

Of course we couldn’t just have scrolls for lunch, so we opted for a zaatar wrap with roast lamb, yoghurt and mint to share. True to their Lebanese heritage, this wrap was divine – the zaatar spice mix was the perfect accompaniment to the roast lamb. At $12 for a sizeable wrap, this is definitely good cheap eats. Too bad we didn’t have room for more – the sujuc (spicy sausage) pizza with assorted cheese looked really yummy too.

Would I go again? Absolutely. Diet be damned.

For more cheap eats in Sydney, visit my dedicated page here.

Practical Information

Oregano Bakery

56 Connells Point Road

South Hurstville 2221

NSW

Open Tuesday to Saturday 7am to 4pm and Sunday 7am to noon. Closed on Mondays.

 

6 comments on “Cheap eats: Oregano bakery

  1. Mabel Kwong
    November 2, 2016

    The Zaatar looks yum. And not too big, and not too small. I’ve tried a scroll from Oregano, and go the fairy flavour. It wasn’t bad at all…I think I’ll need to try other flavours to decide if I love it or not. I’ve never eaten that many scrolls in my life, lol.

    • Penne Cole
      November 3, 2016

      Have you tried deep fried Mars bars? They are so over the top that I have a strict once a year policy on them, and even then, I have to find someone to share with. I think scrolls aren’t quite in the same category, but you certainly wouldn’t want to eat too many! lol

      • Mabel Kwong
        November 3, 2016

        I haven’t tried deep fried Mars bars but have heard so much about them! I already have trouble finishing a Mars bar in one sitting, so I think if I were to eat a whole deep fried Mars bar by myself, it could take up to a week, lol.

      • Penne Cole
        November 4, 2016

        Lol I know what you mean. They are very more-ish!

  2. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    November 4, 2016

    Wow, those scrolls look massive and luscious. I can see why they’re so popular!

    • Penne Cole
      November 6, 2016

      Decadently delicious. Although health-wise, probably a half serving or even a quarter is all we should eat! 😛

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2016 by in Australia, Cheap Eats, Food, Restaurant reviews and tagged , , , .
The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

Recipes by chefkreso

Cooking with imagination

A New Day: Living Life Almost Gracefully

Photography and Thoughts About Life and Aging

