Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

What’s in a name?

What’s in a name? That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet.

At least that was Shakespeare’s logic, but I would beg to differ. How many times have you read a menu and thought to yourself “mm that sounds amazing. I’ll have that!”?

And conversely, how many times have you read a menu and thought “er… I think I’ll stay away from that one.”

In most situations, that logic would apply. In China, however, don’t take the menu too literally.

img_1928

In this case, for example, I’m sure they weren’t actually thinking of a way to foist rotting fish on unsuspecting customers by disguising the taste with tomatoes and beans…

img_1925

It takes a person far more innocent than I to not get the joke in this bee love cream.

img_1926

I wonder if the pig who sacrificed itself for this dish was as health-addicted as the restaurant claims?

img_1927

Surely the Chinese haven’t become that desperate that they are resorting to eating screws. And even if they are, why the heads and not the tails?

img_1923

Sydney-siders will get a kick out of this one, even if it is just snow pear juice.

I’ve been to China many times, but I still get a kick out of reading their menus. Here’s an older post on more funny menus.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: Names.

Other interesting posts on this theme include:

  • The Linda Life’s Naming in New York for bringing back great memories of the city
  • A Wandering Memory for inspiring wanderlust
  • From Hiding to Blogging for the beautiful story of Vasa the Swedish warship
  • What Rhymes with Staza? for the cute puppy picture
  • A Trivial Mind at Work for her insider’s view of the capitol
16 comments on “What’s in a name?

  1. Mabel Kwong
    January 7, 2017

    Hahaha! Sydney juice! I wonder what that really is. Maybe it is strawberry juice…then again, I don’t read Chinese. As for the Bee Love Cream, that looks like chocolate mousse to me and I won’t hesitate ordering it 😀 I think in these situations in China you will need someone to translate the menu for you or you can ask the wait staff…if they know English, that is.

    • Penne Cole
      January 8, 2017

      Lol they’ll just tell you the English is already on the menu! The Sydney juice is actually snow pear juice. I think it would be quite refreshing. Not sure what the bee love juice is though!

  2. margaret21
    January 7, 2017

    You definitely couldn’t make this up. Thanks for making me laugh!

    • Penne Cole
      January 8, 2017

      You’re welcome! 🙂 And thanks for stopping by.

  3. Stefano Scheda
    January 7, 2017

    Nice take on the challenge, Penne. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Names: Bijenkorf | What's (in) the picture?

  5. thepetalpusher
    January 8, 2017

    Your post made me smile!

  6. Linda
    January 8, 2017

    “Health addicted colorectal liver” – the adolescent in me is hysterical from that one! Thanks for linking to my post; I’m glad I could bring you some good memories.

    • Penne Cole
      January 8, 2017

      Glad I could make you smile – and thanks for stopping by!

  7. Tina Schell
    January 8, 2017

    LOL, I also found some of the Chinese names to be very funny. good for you for capturing these!!

    • Penne Cole
      January 8, 2017

      Menus are always a highlight when I’m in China 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  8. autumnbeats
    January 8, 2017

    LOL my fav is the “Health addicted coloretal liver” LMAO

  9. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    January 9, 2017

    Best/worst names ever! I love these so much, I’d have to order them just for the sake of saying those titles out loud.

    • Penne Cole
      January 9, 2017

      Lol I don’t think I’d do that – I’m not the biggest fan of offal!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2017 by in Asia, China, Food, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

