Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Dining at Cecconi’s

The first time I went to Cecconi’s Flinders Lane in Melbourne was for breakfast. That early in the morning, there were just two other tables occupied, so I had unparalleled service, which was fine by me. I was seated immediately, and it didn’t take me long to decide on the prosciutto for breakfast.

The plate arrived heaped generously with delicate strips of prosciutto, topped with a hand-torn chunk of creamy buffalo mozzarella and a drizzle of olive oil. The toast was still warm and crunchy, just the way I like it, and paired with the cheese and meat, it was a match made in heaven.

About a month later, I went back to Cecconi’s for dinner. This time around, the restaurant was packed with patrons dressed to the nines. Luckily, I didn’t have to wait long before I was shown to a little table, despite my office wear that was almost dowdy in comparison to what everyone else was wearing.

IMG_9996.JPG

Pappardelle with beef and pork ragu in a red wine and tomato sauce

I chose the pasta with beef and pork ragu (with a healthy helping of freshly grated parmesan on top, of course – they are a perfect match, after all!) and to make sure I got my 5-a-day of fruit and vege, a roasted watermelon and goat cheese salad topped with baby basil. The pasta sauce was hearty and delicious and was perfectly complimented with the al dente pappardelle. And the watermelon salad – it was so simple but the flavours go so well together that I’d recommend it to anyone.

img_9998

Roasted watermelon, goats cheese and basil salad (sans olives)

Cecconi’s Flinders Lane is a great Italian restaurant; their meals are classic flavour pairings that are simple but delicious. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, it’s got to be one of the hardest working one Chef’s Hat restaurants around too.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: A Good Match.

Practical Information

Cecconi’s Flinders Lane

61 Flinders Lane

Melbourne, Vic 3000

03 8663 0500

Open Monday – Friday, 7.30am – 11.30pm and Saturdays from 5.30pm – 11.30pm. Closed on Sundays.

14 comments on “Dining at Cecconi’s

  1. James
    February 26, 2017

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner. No hour or two break for prep? Hard working indeed!

    • Penne Cole
      February 27, 2017

      Hope their staff have good breaks!

      • James
        February 27, 2017

        Same thing I was thinking

  2. Pingback: A Good Match: Church and Fishing | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Mabel Kwong
    February 26, 2017

    Ah, and all day long Italian restaurant! I didn’t know it existed in Flinders Lane. Have to check it out at some point since I love pasta 😀 Agree with you that Parmesan cheese is a must-have when it comes to pasta. A lot of the time I find that I can never have enough cheese on my pasta. That’s how much I love parmesan 😀

    • Penne Cole
      February 27, 2017

      Me too! If you’re having pasta anyway, may as well go all out and load up on the cheese :p

      • Mabel Kwong
        February 28, 2017

        True! I could use half a bowl of grated cheese with each pasta meal. After all, the cheese always melts… 😀

      • Penne Cole
        March 1, 2017

        Out of sight out of mind :p

  4. chefkreso
    February 26, 2017

    Looks very delicious!

  5. Lifestyle By Lily
    February 27, 2017

    Looks like somewhere I’d like to visit!

    Lisa | http://www.lifestylebylily.com

  6. autumnbeats
    March 2, 2017

    I don’t think I’ve seen this restaurant. I would need to keep an eye out for it the next time we head out around that area.

    • Penne Cole
      March 3, 2017

      It’s pretty far up flinders – between Spring and Exhibition. Worth looking for though!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2017 by in Australia, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , .
What Am I Doing With My Life?

The musings of an English Millennial.

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

polianthus

exploring the world

