Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Companionable

Lorakeets, by Penne Cole

Lorakeets, by Penne Cole

The hardest part of travelling, for me, is leaving friends, family, and loved ones behind. Over the years, I’ve left bits and pieces of my heart in various places around the world. Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever be whole again.

But every time I go to a new place, I find that there is always something new and wonderful to fall in love with. In Sydney, for example, these lorakeets were my constant companions. They would always visit in pairs. I dubbed them Laura and Keith. I loved waking up in the mornings, with the sun streaming in the window, the sea in the distance, and the hungry chirps of the jewel-toned lorakeets as they clamoured for breakfast.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable. For my other photo challenge entries, click here.

9 comments on “Companionable

  1. Colline
    July 3, 2013

    Such beautiful and bright companions.

    • Penne Cole
      July 4, 2013

      Thank you Colline. I really enjoyed them as well.

  2. Pingback: Wacky Day Wednesday | Tommia's Tablet

  3. xpat92
    July 3, 2013

    Hi Penne,
    I love your colorful Sydneyside companions. I love animals and birds of course, I love very much.

    • Penne Cole
      July 4, 2013

      Thanks Barb. I loved the lorakeets too. I especially loved that they were wild and would just turn up on my balcony as they pleased.

  4. SimplySage
    July 3, 2013

    Beautiful!

  5. Pingback: Books, dogs and that Sunday morning feeling | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Companionable | Joe's Musings

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2013 by in Australia, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , .

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,956 other subscribers

Blogs I Follow

Dr. Eric Perry’s Blog

Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

sharing recipes from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

polianthus

exploring the world