Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Penne Cole's thoughts on food, travel and more

Sunset in Saint Malo, France

Posing, by Penne Cole

Posing, by Penne Cole

We arrive at the city walls just in time to catch the sunset, and what a breath-taking one it is. We are in Brittany, drawn by Saint-Malo’s famous neighbour, Mont-Saint-Michel. But I find that it is Saint-Malo that captures my heart instead.

Maybe it was because of the sunset. I love sunsets. I love the long, slow moments when the sun slips below the horizon and the sky is painted in hues of orange and red that slowly fade to black. The one in Saint-Malo is particularly spectacular. We linger on the ramparts of the walled city, admiring the view, each lost in our own thoughts.

Maybe I like Saint-Malo more than Mont-Saint-Michel because of the food. Perched on the seaside, Saint-Malo is famous for its seafood, and what a variety there is. We order an enormous platter to share, and gorge ourselves on oysters, crabs, sea snails and more. It is my first encounter with sea snails or bulot, as the French call them, and they are briny, peppery, and unexpectedly delicious. I didn’t like the smaller periwinkles, though. Too much effort to eat, methinks.

Seafood dinner, by Penne Cole

Seafood dinner, by Penne Cole

Perhaps most of all, I liked Saint-Malo best because it is such a beautiful town. The walled city is filled with narrow, cosy cobblestoned streets. As night falls and the warm glow of the street lamps light up the town, I am transported back in time to another world.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

4 comments on “Sunset in Saint Malo, France

  1. angel
    September 18, 2013

    i love your blog 😉

    • Penne Cole
      September 18, 2013

      Aww thanks so much! I really appreciate you dropping by 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Joe's Musings

  3. Damien Wijerathne
    December 5, 2013

    Beautiful photos…

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2013 by in Europe, France, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , .

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,956 other subscribers

Blogs I Follow

Dr. Eric Perry’s Blog

Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Eye For A Pic

Eye Catching Photography

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Please Pass the Recipe

sharing recipes from one generation to the next

Autumn beats

The beats to my life

polianthus

exploring the world